Daily Prompt: Groundhog Day

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/01/daily-prompt-repetition/

The Daily Prompt for today was inspired by the movie Groundhog Day, where the main character from had to relive the same day over and over again until he got it right. So they want us bloggers to answer this question: What day would you like to relive over and over again until you get it right?

  As a young child, I’m sure there are plenty of things I would like to redo. Lying, cheating, tricking, and other little things that kids do that you make you feel stupid now. There are some things from when I was younger that I wish I never did and saved myself from embarrassment.

As I grew older, there were more things that I wish I didn’t do. They didn’t involve lying and cheating, but instead stupid decisions or not thinking. Some of those things helped me grow and learn, but still, I wish they didn’t happen sometimes just to save myself from shame and embarrassment.

There have been things more recently that make me think, “Oh man, why did I ever do THAT?!” But again, I think all these things made me grow in some way. Sure, I may hate that I did it. I may want to go and redo it so I never have to hear about it again. But I wonder if that would actually help sometimes.

After learning the consequences of lying, it has been my motivation not to lie. I’ve seen how it can hurt not just myself, but everyone who hears the lie.

After finding out how rude my past words were, it has motivated me to think before speaking, or clearing all rude thoughts from my mind if possible. I try to think of things from all points of view before words fly out of my mouth.

After not being wise and paying attention to time, it became my motivation to not be late or give short notice for things if possible. I know how much I hate people making me wait for things, or not giving me enough time to plan something. It’s something I hate to do to other people.

After failing at something and not getting the results I want, it made me want to work harder at it. I went to a musical audition once and was super excited, going on and on about what I would sing and how well I would do.

Once I got there, my voice was a whisper from the nerves. I couldn’t make eye contact. I was wringing my hands behind my back nervously.

Although I still had fun in the musical, I was disappointed that I didn’t get the role I wanted. I knew I could have done better. It has motivated me to do better at things that involve overcoming nerves. It has taught me not to be afraid to put myself out there and do what I love, even if it is a little embarrassing or scary at first.

I practiced at home. I went to more auditions. I even went to an audition for a musical that  had only adult roles, knowing that I may not get a role, saying that I would do props and sound if so, just for the experience. It was there that they told me that yes, I did seem a bit too young for the musical, but there is another musical going on that I would be perfect for, so I should audition for it.

So that’s where I landed one of the lead roles for the first time in a show full of people much older and more experienced than me.

I’m not sure if I would have all of the motivation to keep that up if I didn’t have my past disappointment to constantly motivate me. If I went back to change it, yes, it would take work, but I think I would grow a bit cocky and assume I could somehow make that happen again. Or think that I’m above all because of that.

This may just be a personal thing, but I’m pretty sure that if I had the Groundhog Day experience, it may change how I view things in a bad way. I may forget the lessons I’ve learned. I may loose my motivation. I may not be as strong as I am now. I think I’d much rather go through the shame and embarrassment for a few moments instead of living it over until I finally get it right. I’d rather forgive and forget, and work at moving on.

 

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Groundhog Day

Leave a Reply

